top of page

us, in brief

The Best in Heritage is a non-governmental, non-profit organisation based in Zagreb dedicated to promoting every aspect of professional excellence in heritage occupations and doing it "by the power of example” through an annual, global conference.


To remain world's unique event showcasing best achievements in the heritage sector.


To select and present examples of the best and most successful practices in museums, heritage and conservation, and use their power as change-makers in spreading quality and excellence in public memory domain, contributing thus to creating a powerful profession and better societal use of heritage.

core values

We promote public value of heritage community, their art of communication and efficiency in social  development. Our central value is public good and our method, - inspiration.


who we are

Please reload

Professor Tomislav S. Šola

Director & Chairman of the Board of Stakeholders, Best in Heritage

He finished Art History in Zagreb, Museology in Paris, and made his PhD in Ljubljana. Starting the career as a museum curator he then became director of Museum documentation centre in Zagreb. He became Chairman of the National Committee and later on member of Executive council of ICOM. He occupied the position of Head of Department of Information Sciences, held Chair of Museology at the University of Zagreb and was regularly teaching at seven universities abroad. He was a member of jury of EMYA and head of a jury at Europa Nostra where he is now a Council member.  Professor Šola lectured about 325 hours internationally and wrote eight books, chapters in nine books and about 250 articles.  He founded "The Best in Heritage" conference. Visit the Mnemosophy blog here.

the board of stakeholders 

The Board has been set from the ex-official representatives of the parties that make the conference possible, from ICOM, our main partner, to invaluable partnership with Europa Nostra and other local and international partnerships.


Peter Keller, Co-Chair

Peter Keller was appointed Director General of the International Council of Museums in 2017. Prior to this, he was the Director of the Salzburg Cathedral Museum (Dommuseum), Austria since 2002. He also worked at the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin for three years. He previously served as Treasurer of ICOM, Chair and Secretary of ICOM’s International Committee for Historic House Museums (DEMHIST) and as a board member of the ICOM Austrian National Committee.  Peter Keller studied art history in Vienna, Bonn and Cologne and museology in Paris. 


AN Laishun, Member

Dr. An is professor in heritage and museology of College of Liberal Arts of Shanghai University, China. Additionally to his position in the Chinese Museums Association (since 2009), he is the Vice President of ICOM (since 2016). Previosuly, he was Deputy Secretary General, Chinese Society of Museums, Beijing (2002-2008); Deputy Director, International Friendship Museum of China, Beijing (2007-2012), Deputy Director, Luxun Museum (New Cultural Movement Museum), Beijing (2012-2019). He holds Ph.D in Chinese History, Nankai University, China (2005); Master of Arts in Museology, Reinwardt Academy, Amsterdam School of the Arts, the Netherlands (2001); Bachelor Degree in History and Museology, Nankai University, China (1984).


Sneška Quaedvlieg Mihailović, Co-Chair

Sneška Quaedvlieg–Mihailović is Secretary General of Europa Nostra, the voice of civil society committed to safeguarding and promoting Europe’s cultural and natural heritage. In her capacity, she works closely with EU institutions, the Council of Europe, the UN, UNESCO and other international and European governmental and non– governmental bodies on heritage matters. She is a regular speaker at European conferences and meetings on cultural heritage. She obtained a degree in International Law in Belgrade (former Yugoslavia) and in European Law and Politics in Nancy (France).


Frank Boot, Member

Frank is the Director of Meyvaert since 2014 ,a Belgium (Ghent) based company founded in 1826 and globally renowned for its design, fabrication and installation of Museum Grade Display Cases. Frank holds a Degree as an Interpreter  from Ghent University and a Marketing degree from Insead . He started his career as an Interpreter at the European Parliament and worked the largest part of his career as a Chief Marketing Officer for European based US corporations before professionally entering the Museumworld. From a very early on Frank has developed an interest and passion for the Arts. After an initial course for Antiques he developed through self study a particular interest in the Arts from the Interbellum period that broadened throughout the years over other periods and disciplines.

the board of advisors

The Board of Advisors presents a wider list of influential and valuable friends of conference who are able to help us recognize and manage our potentials in the changing global circumstances.


Carriberrie - TBIH2022 IMAGINES Project of Influnce (COMMENDED)

Contact Us
Office (Zagreb):
The Best in Heritage
/ European Heritage Association
Tel/fax: +385 1 7788 248, +385 1 4550 424
Trg kralja Petra Krešimira IV, 7
10 000 Zagreb
org.secretary <at>
Mr. Luka Cipek
The Best in Heritage
Project manager
pm <at>
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • issuubwlogo
  • Flickr - White Circle
bottom of page